Unit Identifier Board

Image of a BLM Engine decal superimposed over a map and trees. Decorative.

Mission Statement

The Unit Identifier Board (UIB) provides national leadership in the approval and use of Unit Identifiers in support of effective fire management decision-making. Primary objectives include:

Photo of wildland firefighters in a wildland fire engine. Decorative
  • Manage NWCG data standards, business rules, and processes related to Unit Identifiers and associated information.
  • Publish current Unit Identifiers in the document NWCG Unit Identifiers, PMS 931.
  • Ensure standards and processes are implemented consistently by Geographic Area Coordination Centers, agencies, and applications.

Photo of a dispatch coordinator pointing to a location on a large wall map. Decorative.

From the markings on a wildland fire engine to every incident listed on the daily Incident Management Situation Report (IMSR), the Unit Identifier (UI) is an integral piece of information.

Unit Identifiers may be the most fundamental and essential informational elements for the interagency incident management community because they uniquely identify organizational units within that community. Unit Identifiers are created by the interagency incident management community. They are the standard way organizational units communicate who they are, the incidents they are hosting, and the resources they provide, in a way that is common among agencies and applications.

In the past, misunderstandings, assumptions, lack of standards, and inconsistent utilization of Unit Identifiers has led to mistakes and inefficiencies, such as lost time and increased costs. Users were often forced to conduct uncoordinated and divergent workarounds to achieve desired outcomes.

Geographic Area Unit Identifier Data Custodians

USAKACC

Alaska Interagency Coordination Center

Peter Butteri

Peter_Butteri@fws.gov

(907) 356 - 5874

Jennifer Humphrey

jhumphre@blm.gov

(907) 356 - 5690

USCAONCC

Northern California Area Coordination Center

Chris Bunker

laura.bunker@usda.gov

(530) 226 - 2800

Laurie Forni

laurie.forni@usda.gov

(530) 226 - 2800

USCAOSCC

Southern California Area Coordination Center

Shayne Canady

shayne.canady@usda.gov

(951) 782 - 4169

Manuel Salas

manuel.salas@usda.gov

(951) 276 - 6725

USWIEACC

Eastern Area Coordination Center

Brendan Neylon

Brendan.p.neylon@usda.gov

(414) 944 - 3811 

Jennifer Parrish 

jennifer.parrish@usda.gov  

(414) 391 - 6090

USUTGBC

Great Basin Coordination Center

Gina Dingman

gdingman@blm.gov

(801) 531 - 5320

USMTNRC

Northern Rockies Coordination Center

Roy Robinson

roy.robinson@usda.gov

(406) 329 - 4881

USORNWC

Northwest Area Coordination Center

 

Gina Papke

gina.papke@usda.gov

(503) 277-3391

USCORMC

Rocky Mountain Area Coordination Center

Rob Juhola

robert.juhola@bia.gov

(303) 445 - 4304

Travis Hartsburg

travis.hartsburg@usda.gov

(303) 320 - 3000

USGASAC

Southern Area Coordination Center

 

Tracy Robinson

Tracy.Robinson@usda.gov

(678) 320-3000

USNMSWC

Southwest Area Coordination Center

Kenan Jaycox

kenan.jaycox@usda.gov

(505) 842 - 3473

Juan Ortiz

juan.ortiz@usda.gov

(505) 842 - 3472

 

Chair: 
Gina Papke, Chair; Kara Stringer, Co-Chair
NWCG Coordinator: 
Katy O'Hara
Parent Committee: 
Page Last Modified / Reviewed: 
2022-04-13